Posted by: audioofamber | January 6, 2009

Now I just sit here and think of meaningless things to say.

I was drawn to all the wrong things: I liked to drink, I was lazy, I didn’t have a god, politics, ideas, ideals. I was settled into nothingness; a kind of non-being, and I accepted it. It didn’t make for an interesting person. I didn’t want to be interesting, it was too hard. What I really wanted was only a soft, hazy space to live in, and to be left alone.”

Women- Charles Bukowski

I stole that quote from a friend’s livejournal. Of course I identify a frightening amount with this. It is surprising to me that someone I, and many others would count as one of the most interesting people we know would identify with it as well. Just goes to show, you never really know someone I guess, or how similar they may be to you deep down. Some people are just more successful at hiding their failures maybe, or distracting themselves from them.

Responses

  1. Chuck B is the man!
    That quote is pretty spooky in it’s applicability to you.
    (And me too for that matter)

    …..Except that you’re the most interesting person I’ve ever known.

  2. Yea, it is kinda spooky. Sigh. I want to read where he is going with this.

  3. Don’t I have that one???

  4. I have no idea. I have never read any of his stuff.

  5. If you want to borrow, I have it, his five other novels, and about forty publications of his poetry and short stories. Oh, and the Barbet Schroeder videos of him doing readings, drinking, and so on — 4 hours worth. :p

  6. You need a tumblr.. it’s full of stuff like this :)

    xxxxxxx


Leave a Reply

Categories

