Posted by: audioofamber | December 8, 2008

Doggie jealousy.

The Vienna-based researchers showed that dogs will stop doing a simple task when not rewarded if another dog, which continues to be rewarded, is present.

…To make sure that the experiment was really showing the interaction between the dogs rather than just the frustration of not being rewarded, a similar experiment was conducted where the dogs performed the task without the partner. Here they continued to present the paw for much longer.

… The researchers say this kind of behaviour, where one animal gets frustrated with what is happening with another, has only been observed in primates before.

_45278895_08-10957-pawl-1
Okay, I see what you’re getting at…. This is kinda fun!

_45278896_10957-observl-1
WTF? That jerk gets it and I don’t? … I demand a recount.

_45278897_-26
You’ve gotta be kidding me. Screw this shit.
-other dog: I’ll do it! I’ve got my paw all ready and everything!

Source: BBC news

Responses

  1. I am a dog. (Seriously!!!) I noticed that you write a lot about dogs. Do you read as much about dogs as you write about them? If not, please see my blog: (www.lifewithpaws.wordpress.com).

    I know you are doubting my doggishness right now. I can tell. But how can you prove it? Do you have an entire blog about how I am NOT a dog? Because I have an entire blog full of evidence that I AM A DOG!! So… HA!

    Smell you later,
    Bisket


Leave a Reply

Categories

