Posted by: audioofamber | November 14, 2008

The cake is a lie.

When I was a kid I was obsessed with cake decorating.

[Along with egg carton art:]

9780195407181

I took all the cake decorating books out of the library my little arms would carry. I pored over the pages, dreaming of all the breath-taking cakes I would make. Alas, after a few childhood attempts I gave up on my dream. Infact, creating anything is something that my adult life entirely lacks. A shame, it is.

Here are some cool cakes.

atari-2600

mario-cake-1
Aww Mario wedding cake!

trekcake1

selleck-cake
I SO WANT THIS BIRTHDAY CAKE OMMGGGGZZZZ. The sprinkle chest hair is too much. AWESOME!!!!

435_rubikscake

435_rebocake
I don’t love Star Wars but this cake is way cute!

nike_dunk_sb_tiffany_cake
I would make this one for Jeff!

n040-star-trek-cake

john-dragon1

339321693_6cc76af34d

2363523132_009d10b936_b

large_49

jello-recipe

1269208182_4e4d9c7ae5

cupcake-cookiemonster

totoro1

2596754756_26f7c0f6d2

totoro

I will always have a soft spot for these Wilton sheet cakes too… [does anyone make these anymore? Hard to find pictures online..]

ernieandbertcakebig

ernie
That is the exact Ernie pan my mom used to use for my birthday cakes!

popplecakepan
A Popple pan!

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH CREEPIEST CAKE OF ALL TIME!!!

baby_cake_1_wenn1157947preview

SAVE ME FROM THE SATANIC CAKE!!!!!

When watching Ace of Cakes and stuff, I sometimes feel torn about the form over function of it. But I guess you decide; Do I want an artistic cake, or a yummy cake? Are the two as mutually exclusive as it sometimes seems?

[And now I finally know what ‘the cake is a lie’ means. I would call today a productive day.]

Responses

  1. I am so weak! A post about cakes and I’m heading to the bakery now…

    (Please don’t post about naked girls… Wait, I take that back…)

  2. I hope you got the magnum cake

  3. No, instead I got a “We just laid off a bunch of people and you were not one of them, but the girl beside you and the guy to your right? They’re gone” meeting… :|

  4. I am sorry to hear that… are you feeling pretty secure though? :(


Leave a Reply

Categories

