Posted by: audioofamber | September 7, 2008

mind=blown

Mogwai last night was pretty fucking amazing. I am pretty sure this will go down in history as one of the greatest live shows I have seen. I wasn’t even high, which probably would have made it insanely more overwhelming. Not to mention, the company was amazing. This is going to sound slutty, but I think it might be the first time ever I have been out and not been scoping out the scene, playing the ‘who would I like to go home with?’ game. Not that I actually DID go home with them, but you know the mental games we play. In any case.. it was pretty spectacular the music moving through us, instead of in the past where it would be just moving through me, and this being a lonely state of affairs.

The opening band were called Fuck Buttons. Two guys who use rewired old school electronics to make some pretty astounding noise. I would probably not listen to it at home but I had to appreciate them of course. Especially when asian dude busted out the original game boy and got pretty fucking into whatever he was doing with it. For a bunch of button pressers they were pretty freaking animated. Also I am reverse racist and the fact that they had a cute asian gave them some extra legitimacy to me.

I love pictures like this unapologetically. I do not care if it’s bad photography, I like the weird light effects and whatnot.

They were amazingly beautiful. I hate reviewing music or giving my thoughts because I feel so uneducated, and like you can get a better idea of what they are like by looking up one of the millions of other accounts of them on the internet. It is definitely epic. It penetrates your soul. If your soul is not interested in being penetrated do not attend one of their shows. I am so glad I got a chance to see them while they were in Victoria, even if I still do not quite appreciate how legendary they are. Anyway, so, it was a good show okay? Even though I only had two drinks!

And now, I think it may be almost Warcraft time. Yes, that is correct, after all these years of resistance Amber was finally sucked into WoW.

Responses

  1. I heard that Mogwai has the record or something for the LOUDEST show ! I am so jealous! I heard about the show the night of the event… not like i could have gone anyway. I’m glad that you did!

  2. It was so fucking amazing! I am glad I did too.
    Aww I feel honoured you commented on my blog :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

